Your clear 2023 guide to LTO Driver’s License or DL Codes

The Driver’s License issued by the LTO has long been updated. Gone are the Restriction Codes from before and they have been replaced with the DL Codes. Similar in its function, the given code indicates what kind of motor vehicle a license holder can legally drive. To clear it all up, here’s a guide that you can use at a quick glance to see if you are allowed to drive a certain vehicle or not.

DL Codes Explained

The old Restriction Codes were used to show if a motorist can drive a motorcycle, motor vehicle, or commercial vehicle. With the new DL Codes, specifics have been included to clearly indicate motorcycles versus tricycles, the attachment of a trailer, trucks versus buses, etc. Here you’ll find a most basic rundown of the Codes and the corresponding vehicles that they allow you to drive.

Lto Driver's License Classification Vehicle Category dl code Inline 01 Min

Photo: LTO

As we had lined up in our previous guide for motorcycles 82, your license requires DL Code A or A1 for a 2- or 3-wheeler motorcycle. Both A and A1 Code holders can drive motorcycles under the L1 – L7 categories and its specifics can be seen above.

Lto Driver's License Classification Vehicle Category dl code Inline 02 Min

Photo: LTO

For driving vehicles with 4 wheels or more, you will need to have DL Code B, B1, B2 indicated on your License. The “B” Codes are governed by GVW or Gross Vehicle Weight, as well as passenger capacity and cargo capacity. Specifics and images of applicable vehicles can be seen above.

DL Codes C and D are reserved for those who hold a Professional Driver’s License. Like the B Codes, they are also governed by GVW, passengers, and cargo capacity. C is for driving closed cargo trucks and D is for passenger buses.

Lto Driver's License Classification Vehicle Category dl code Inline 03 Min

Photo: LTO

Also for those with a Professional Driver’s License, DL Codes BE and CE are for driving light and heavy articulated vehicles, AKA, those with attached trailers.

BE covers those with a GVW of 750 kg or less (Category 01) or those with a GVW above 750 kg but do not exceed 3,500 kg (Category 02). CE, on the other hand, is for heavy commercial trailer trucks that exceed 3,500 kg GVW.

It can’t be easier than this, yes? With all the DL Codes indicated, plus photos of vehicles that correspond to what you can and cannot drive, we’re glad to give you this quick reference to the LTO 37‘s DL Codes. Now go and make sure that you have the proper Code for the vehicle type you’re driving, yes?

Stay and drive safely out there, everyone!

Mikko Juangco
  1. Reply Avatar of Danilo M. Peralta Jr.
    Danilo M. Peralta Jr. September 14, 2023 at 5:08 pm

    Have a blessed day sir,

    Asking for your assistance…Driver’s License ko po ay Restriction 1,2,3…Year 2012…Nag renew po ako Year 2014 sa hindi po inaasahang pangyayari, naging Restriction 1 & 3 na lang po…since diko po naasikaso till now…\

    Need ko pa po ba mag add ng Restriction 2…most of the time po kasi four wheels vehicle ang na drive ko.

    Thank you so much sa response mo po & God bless you!


  2. Good morning sir tanong ko lang pwede ba magmaneho ng boom truck yong dating code ng license na 123

Leave a reply

YugaAuto: Automotive News & Reviews in the Philippines