2022 TOYOTA GAZOO Racing Vios Cup Champions announced

The 2022 Toyota Gazoo Racing Vios Cup season ended last November 2022, however, judges and officials needed to properly tabulate all the points before announcing the official champions. Well, the tabulations have finished, and here are the official champions for the 2022 season.

2022 Toyota Gazoo Racing Vios Cup champions

After three successful legs of TGR Vios Cup Circuit Championship, Iñigo Anton of Toyota North Edsa-Obengers Racing Team was declared the overall champion in the Super Sporting Class. Royce Sarmiento of RMS Cars Racing Team and Jay Lao of Happy Hotels/OTR Racing Team took home the championship in the Sporting and Promotional Classes, respectively.  

Toyota Vios Cup Awarding 1

In the Autocross Challenge, Jules Aquino took the trophy in the Advanced Influencer Class while newcomer Miggy Romulo was declared the champion in the Beginner Influencer Class. In the Media category, Jamil Lacuna was declared the overall champion in the Advanced Media Class while Pablo Salapantan won the Beginner Media Class. Lastly, Russel Reyes took the overall championship trophy for the GT Cup Class.

Toyota Vios Cup Awarding 3

TMP held the night to commend and show appreciation to the racers who not only contributed to the success of the 2022 TGR Vios Cup, but also served as ambassadors for TMP and TGR’s goal of promoting motorsports in the country. 

“TOYOTA GAZOO Racing Vios Cup is one of our most celebrated milestones. This would not be possible without you, our racers, and the whole team behind every driver. You gave life to this motorsports program,” TMP First Vice President for Vehicle Sales Operations Danny Cruz said. 

Toyota Vios Cup Awarding 2

Topping off the night’s celebration, the overall Team Award was handed to the Obengers Racing Team. The team’s collective effort and skills on and off tracks made them the best among all the racing teams.

“We contribute to Philippine motorsports by developing more racers,” Obengers Racing Team Co-Principal  Richie Uy said as he received the award on stage with the rest of the Team Obengers racers. 

Below is the complete list of the 2022 season’s podium finishers:


Rank Name Team
1 Iñigo Anton Toyota North Edsa-Obengers Racing Team
2 Gerard Loy R Racing Team
3 John Dizon Funhanmart-Obengers Racing Team


Rank Name Team
1 Royce Sarmiento RMS Cars Racing Team
2 Joaquin Garrido Toyota Otis-Obengers Racing Team
3 Troy Montero TOYOTA GAZOO Racing PH


Rank Name Team
1 Jay Lao Happy Hotels/OTR Racing Team
2 Ian Rosales Team Toyota Cebu
3 Alan Palacios Team Toyota Cebu



Rank Name
1 Jules Aquino
2 Enzo Pineda
3 Aaron Villaflor


Rank Name
1 Miguel Romulo
2 Carla Lizardo
3 Ashley Gosiengfiao


Rank Name
1 Jamil Lacuna
2 Kevin Francisco
3 Ronald Delos Reyes


Rank Name
1 Pablo Salapantan
2 Wowie Go
3 Riz Javier


Rank Name
1 Russel Reyes
2 Mark Elman
3 Jether Miole



Pablo Salapantan

Pablo Salapantan

Pablo's first word was probably "Car", and this has developed into a personal passion that has consumed his professional life as well.

We will be happy to hear your thoughts

Leave a reply

YugaAuto: Automotive News & Reviews in the Philippines