Dry run of MMDA’s new Single Ticketing System will begin in 1st or 2nd week of April

It’s happening. The MMDA’s Single Ticketing System got the thumbs-up from the Metro Manila Council last month and its full implementation was expected to begin sooner than later. Before being fully enforced, though, the agency has scheduled a dry run and it will begin any time within the first or second week of April.

Single Ticketing System dry run will include the participation of 7 cities

Mmda Miaa Colorum Illegal Parking Inline 01 Min single ticketing system

Photo: DOTr

The approval of the Single Ticketing System came after the Metro Manila Council, composed of Metro Manila mayors unanimously gave their affirmative vote. This follows the approval of the Metro Manila Traffic Code of 2023 which provides for an interconnected system among government instrumentalities involved in the transport and traffic management in the metropolis with harmonized fines and penalties.

“The single ticketing system across Metro Manila is nearing full implementation. There is a need to conduct a dry run to increase public awareness,” said Atty. Don Artes, MMDA Acting Chairman a Metro Manila Council (MMC) meeting was held yesterday at the new MMDA head office in Pasig City.

Lto Mmda Mmc Single Ticekting System Approved Inline 03 Min

Photo: LTO

As of yesterday, the Land Transportation Office had already drafted a memorandum of agreement regarding interconnectivity with LGUs and a data privacy agreement. “LTO Chief Assistant Secretary Jay Art Tugade has committed to submit the MOA tomorrow,” Artes later added. The single ticketing system means to make it easier for apprehended traffic violators in the National Capital Region to settle their penalties through Bayad Centers all over the country or through mobile apps.

“The implementation of the single ticketing system will highly benefit our motorists because they have the option to pay thru online channels for their violations,” said Francis Zamora, San Juan City Mayor, and MMC President.

Lto Mmda Mmc Single Ticketing System Approved Main 00 Min

Photo: LTO

There will be 7 cities that will participate in the dry run, namely San Juan, Muntinlupa, Quezon City, Valenzuela, Parañaque, Manila, and Caloocan.

In case you missed it, here is the list of the most common traffic violations and their accompanying fines under the Single Ticketing System that motorists may be apprehended for. Best that we give ourselves a refresher, especially with the dry run set to begin in about 4 or 5 weeks. But then again these should already be common knowledge, given that we already have driver’s licenses, right?

Drive safely and responsibly out there, folks, Single Ticketing System in place or not.

Mikko Juangco
We will be happy to hear your thoughts

Leave a reply

YugaAuto: Automotive News & Reviews in the Philippines