The 2022 Peugeot 2008 Roars Like A True Lion Should – Review

+1
+1
1
+1
1
+1
1
+1
+1
1

As mentioned in my previous Peugeot 5008 SUV review, the brand has been aggressive in asserting that it’s taking the local Philippine market seriously, their presence was truly felt at the Manila International Auto Show, as being the first brand to launch on the first day, pulling the covers off the all-new Peugeot 2008 SUV.

2022 Peugeot 2008 Logo

I have to admit that, at first glance (in the crowded) World Trade Center, the Peugeot 2008 SUV looked small. Not only that, based on the segment it’s competing in I really wasn’t expecting much, that’s not to say it was going to be a bad car (far from it actually).

2022 Peugeot 2008 Hood

Here I am though, a few months removed from the MIAS launch, and oh boy…not only is the Peugeot 2008 SUV a good car, but it also blew all my expectations out of the water. So much so that I’m still hungover from my experience with the car.

2022 Peugeot 2008 Rear

Peugeot 2008 SUV Exterior

Getting to see the exterior of the Peugeot 2008 SUV without the crowds and backdropped by the blue skies and calm waters of Subic Bay made me appreciate the design even more.

2022 Peugeot 2008 Front

Make no mistake, the little SUV is undoubtedly a Peugeot, the front fascia carries over from the rest of the line-up. The only difference here is the 2008 SUV features a more rounded headlight design as compared to the 5008 and 3008, which is a good thing because it distinguishes the 2008 SUV from its siblings while still retaining the striking Peugeot family looks.

See also  The Peugeot 2008 may be on its way here

2022 Peugeot 2008 Side

Also, once you remove the Peugeot 2008 SUV from the car show setting, it actually looks longer and sleeker. I don’t remember a time when I didn’t take another glance back after walking away from it.

It’s not just striking, it’s damn good-looking.

2022 Peugeot 2008 Dashboard

Peugeot 2008 SUV Interior

Just like the 5008 SUV though, my favorite part about the 2008 SUV is the interior.

2022 Peugeot 2008 Radio

Think of the Interior of the 2008 SUV as a scaled-down version of the 5008 SUV, it retains the same design philosophy and layout. Everything is (once again) driver-centric, all of the relevant displays, controls, and features are at an angle facing the driver for ease of use and access.

2022 Peugeot 2008 Gauge

The only difference in the interior is the patented Peugeot i-Cockpit display, in the 2008 SUV it’s “3D”. What it does is give a depth to the otherwise overlooked multi-informational display and gauge clusters, apart from being eye-catching, it’s also functional. There are different display options (depending on what information you want to see) and it’s possible to even personalize the gauges and information based on what you need to be displayed in front of you. Further comfort and convenience are added with an infotainment system that features Apple CarPlay and Android Auto.

2022 Peugeot 2008 Dashboard 2

At the risk of repeating myself, the interior is equally as striking as it is good-looking.

Now, you’re probably thinking, these things don’t seem like “blow out of the water” features yet. Hold on, we’re just getting to the exciting part.

2022 Peugeot 2008 2

An Incredible Journey

For some (absurd) reason, my photographer and I decided to take the review photos of the Peugeot 2008 SUV in Subic. As if that wasn’t enough, we pushed the boundaries of absurdity even more by deciding to take photos of the SKYWAY, NLEX, SCTEX, and TPLEX. Yes, on that particular day we went to the end of each of those highway networks to take photos…I really do love my job.

See also  2022 Peugeot 5008 SUV Review

2022 Peugeot 2008 Engine

The Peugeot 2008 SUV is powered by a 1.2-liter 3-cylinder turbocharged gasoline engine, it puts out 130hp and 230Nm of torque. Shifting is taken care of by a 6-speed automatic transmission. Respectable numbers despite the fact that this is quite a small (SUV).

2022 Peugeot 2008 Transmission Shifter

Don’t be fooled into thinking the powertrain provides a “measly” driving experience though, as we were making our way to the SKYWAY the Peugeot 2008 SUV was lively and eager in the city setting, I sensed no lag from the engine response and shifting was smooth enough. The transmission is only dimwitted on inclines, sometimes slow to shift down or up.

2022 Peugeot 2008 1

The best driving feature though has to be what I call the “Umami Steering”, it’s so very light but direct and full of feel. Why “umami”? well to me, the steering is so perfect for normal and spirited driving, and just like the “umami” taste it makes you want to drive the 2008 SUV even more, it makes you crave for a twisty road.

In its class, nothing even comes close to the steering feel of the Peugeot 2008 SUV.

As we made our way through the highway network, the 2008 SUV performed so well. It wasn’t out of place despite its size, and held its own against the big burly trucks we breezed by. It had no issues keeping up and speeding up when the situation asked for it.

See also  No-Window Number Coding extended to 8PM

2022 Peugeot 2008 3

Even when the heavens opened and violent raindrops tattered the roads and the car, the 2008 SUV never put a foot wrong, not once was it rattled by slippery conditions, I felt safe, and comfortable the whole time.

2022 Peugeot 2008 3d Gauge (1)

When it comes to fuel efficiency the Peugeot 2008 SUV is decent, in the city I was able to do around 11km/l, and 13km/l on the highway.

2022 Peugeot 2008 Cargo

Points For Improvement

I really only have two issues with the 2008 SUV, the first being the cargo space, while it seems ample when it’s empty, fitting a full week’s worth of groceries was quite a struggle, and lastly the ride, it seems the “firm” ride from the 5008 also carries over here.

2022 Peugeot 2008 Rear Night

Verdict and Price

The Peugeot 2008 SUV comes in one variant that retails for PHP 1,550,000. There are no two ways to go about it, that is a steep asking price compared to the other equally spec’d competition.

I’ll be honest and say in the beginning I struggled to justify the price until I drove it literally hundreds of miles.

The Peugeot 2008 SUV is for those who enjoy driving, those who understand the need for a “tall” SUV/crossover with more space, but still want something that drives well and can give you the accompanying grins and giggles a “sporty” sedan can.

It may be the smallest offering from the “Lion” brand, but it’s not a cub, it roars as a true Lion should.

Pablo Salapantan

Pablo Salapantan

Pablo's first word was probably "Car", and this has developed into a personal passion that has consumed his professional life as well.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Subscribe
Notify of
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x
YugaAuto: Automotive News & Reviews in the Philippines
Logo